Hello darlings,

I’ve had a terrible month… I’m writing to you from hospital – second visit in a week, but I’ll explain all of that in a later post!

I really wanted to tell you that although I’d really been trying to grow out my hair to grey, and had gone somewhat ash blonde to facilitate this change, it just wasn’t me.

Here is the blonde… Yes, this is from my last hospital stay…

Blond hair, yeah, yeah!

 

The blonde has been terribly hard to keep up and unfortunately when I was in hospital I couldn’t brush my hair and ended up with a huge ‘chunk’ of ponytail and when I got home I had to have handfuls of conditioner left on for a few hours to bring it back to brush-able goodness!

The reason I’m in hospital is because of a disc in my back that keeps slipping, so the dream of continuing the regime of bleach, waiting, checking, waiting, head burning, waiting some more whilst suffocating, rinsing, adding an ashy toner to get rid of any horrible yellowish colour is, frankly, a nightmare…

So, what colour do I truly want? Oh how I’d love to wake up with glamorous grey tresses! But luvvies, that ain’t  gonna happen, so the next best thing was taking a good hard look at myself, figuratively, of course – I’ve not been looking so crash hot since these hospital stays!

In between leaving hospital on Wednesday and coming back in on Saturday I turned the very boring and unmagical age of 42… Okay, I say unmagical, but perhaps I’m not giving this age enough credit because I found myself thinking that I really wanted to do something that makes me happy when I look in the mirror each morning; something that I think is super purty; something me!

Taa daa!!

Pink hair, yeah, yeah!

Pink!

My favourite colour. My happy colour. My warm and safe colour. So darlings THAT is what I’ve chosen to represent who I am to the world. Sure, there will be haters, but kiddos, haters gonna hate. And no longer do I worry what ‘they’ think! Pink it is for me and I believe pink I shall stay!

I will be a granny with pink hair – I may tone it down a little then, but for now my aim is a true raspberry colour. I’m rocking flamingo currently, but that will fit with Edie’s first birthday party coming up in a few weeks!

So… New hair. Bad back. Ooh, also a new business venture for Mr Jones and myself (that’s for another time though!). But lots and lots of interesting stories from my stays! I must dash because I’m waiting to be discharged and I have to make a detour to the ward I used to be in to see my brand-new adopted Grandma, Jeannie! She’s a hoot and officially asked to become my adopted grandmother during my last stay, and as I don’t have any of mine left, I was beyond thrilled to begin this new relationship!

I’ll fill you in on the rest of my adventures once I’ve had a little rest!

Love Mrs Jones x

