artful business conference

 

 

Well my dears, it’s been quite some time since I’ve chatted to you. As you all know (from previous posts) I’ve been dealing with trips to and from hospital due to a back problem. That has now turned into trips to and from hydrotherapy, pain management and other fun stuff… But the one thing I knew that I simply HAD to be well enough for was ‘The Artful Business Conference‘!

And, am I glad I broke through pain barriers, brought my little back cushion with me and put on my big-girl panties and just sucked it up to get there.

I learnt SOOOOO much! I’m not one to go on and on, but honestly friends, this was amazing for somebody who is creative and has to make that work in a business sense. You see, when you work from that creative side of your brain there’s a whole lot of brain that doesn’t get a good workout and becomes retarded. Things like numbers, actually selling stuff (I know, duh!) and making your PR and marketing work for you – things that you simply MUST do to survive if you’re ever going to make it through and leave any kind of legacy to your children… a plan of mine – but that’s a post for later.

With speakers (who also ran amazing workshops) such as The Editor of ‘The Collective’ magazine, Lisa Messenger; Valerie Khoo from the Australian Writers’ Centre; Elle Roberts(who ran the whole thing!) – Studio Exsto; Denise Duffield-Thomas – Lucky Bitch.com; Julia Bickerstaff – The Business Bakery; Karen Gunton – Build A Little Biz; Jess Van Den – Create and Thrive; Victoria Gibson – Breakout Success Online and the lovely, fontalicious Tess McCabe – who has a number of lovely businesses, including the Creative Women’s Circle.

I was overwhelmed (kept copious notes to ensure brain didn’t explode) with commonsense advice, business savvy tips and methods and the knowledge that there are a huge number of other creative, crazy, awesome women running their own creative little businesses just like me!

A light has been ignited within me that I have promised myself to nurture…

My next post (very soon… promise!) will outline the main, and most awesome, stuff I learned and will – and in some cases already have – implement ASAP! These tips are amazing for small businesses, full stop. Creative or not, do yourself a favour and come back asap!

